• Maclaine Capshew

Why Jesus Is Your Soulmate

Newman House Chapel

Photo by Mirjana Villeneuve

Have you ever heard of the 5 Love Languages? It’s actually a book written by Gary Chapman, and a website that contains a quiz identifying YOUR love language. Yes, I very much enjoy taking quizzes in order to learn more about myself (even if it’s the crazy ones like what age I’ll be married based on how I’d decorate my house haha). The 5 Love Languages include: Acts of Service, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, and Words of Affirmation. A couple years ago I took the quiz online and found out that I am most receptive to Words of Affirmation, and usually give Words of Affirmation or Gift Giving to show my love for someone else. The point of this book and quiz is to better identify the ways you feel love, and the way you love. This brings me to my next thought: what about Love Himself, Jesus? What would His results be?

So I have decided to dive into the 5 Love Languages and inform you why Jesus is The One for you. You two happen to be perfectly compatible

Acts of Service: For these people, actions speak louder than words.

In John 19, it says: “When Jesus had taken the wine, he said, ‘It is finished.’ And bowing his head, he handed over the spirit.” The greatest sacrificial act in all of history: God humbling Himself in order to die for a bunch of flimsy humans.

Physical Touch: To these people, nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate touch.

In Luke 13:10-13, it says: “He was teaching in a synagogue on the sabbath. And a woman was there who for eighteen years had been crippled by a spirit; she was bent over, completely incapable of standing erect. When Jesus saw her, he called to her and said, ‘Woman, you are set free of your infirmity.’ He laid his hands on her, and she at once stood up straight and glorified God.” When Jesus cures people in the Gospels, He usually rests His hands on them to show that He’s not afraid of their disease or shame.

Quality Time: This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.

In Matthew 14: 22-26, it says: “While they were eating, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, and said, ‘Take it; this is my body.’ Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and gave it to them, and they all drank from it.” Jesus, the night before the most nerve-racking day of His life, decides to spend time with His closest friends and share the Last Supper with them. He also institutes the Eucharist (no biggie) by giving His body and blood, then prays with His friends in the garden for many hours.

Receiving Gifts: For some people, what makes them feel most loved is to receive a gift.

In Mark 6:34-44, it says: “Then taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he said the blessing, broke the loaves, and gave them to [his] disciples to set before the people; he also divided the two fish among them all. They all ate and were satisfied.” Christ provides. He doesn’t just preach kind words and tell everyone to love their enemies, but He feeds His people. He fills them physically and spiritually.

Words of Affirmation: This language uses words to affirm other people.

In the Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-12), it says: ” ‘Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.’ ” Jesus fills the world upside down with His new teachings in the Sermon on the Mount, but other than that, affirms our grace-filled actions by calling us “blessed”.

I hope these expressions of love show you how Jesus is Love, itself. He is perfect in all He does and is the greatest model for love that anyone could have. When you’re searching for love, search for Him. He cannot disappoint.

This post originally appeared on A Catholic Convo.

#Prayer #SpiritualReading #LoveLanguages


Recent Posts

See All